Banner 3 small rev

  • School Closings March 31, 2016
    Lamar County Schools will release 2 hours early today
    Jeff Davis County Schools will release the Elementary students at 1:10p
    Jeff Davis County High Schools will release at 1:25p 

     City Wide Rummage Sale at Laurel Fairgrounds rescheduled to April 2



    The Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) reminds all residents affected by recent flooding that there are precautions to take when returning home and cleaning up after a storm:


    Personal Protection:

    When cleaning up storm-damaged areas, be sure to wear protective clothing and sturdy shoes to prevent cuts and scratches from debris. Do not let children play in floodwater, and discard any items that come into contact with floodwater.


    Any food (including food in plastic or glass) medicines, cosmetics or bottled water that has come in contact with floodwater should be discarded. If in doubt, throw it out.  Intact cans may be thoroughly disinfected with one-quarter cup of bleach to one gallon of water, and then used.


    Around Your Home

    When cleaning up debris around your home, be sure ladders are secure before climbing on them to clean the roof and gutters. If you plan to use a chainsaw to clear debris, be sure to operate the machine according to the instructions. If injury occurs, call 9-1-1 or seek immediate medical help.


    Flooding can cause mold to grow inside your home, which can cause allergic reactions, asthma episodes, infections, and other respiratory problems. The MSDH does not handle mold removal or abatement. You will need to call a private contractor for further assistance.   


    Tetanus Information:

    Tetanus vaccination is recommended if it’s been 10 years or more since your last tetanus vaccination (Tdap is the recommended vaccine). In the event of a puncture wound or wound contaminated with floodwater, individuals should consult a healthcare provider. Tetanus vaccinations are available at all county health departments.


    Disinfecting Private Water Wells

    Homeowners impacted by the recent flood who do not receive their water supply from a public water system regulated by the MSDH should have their private well inspected, disinfected and sampled in order to protect their health. For step-by-step instructions on disinfecting your private water well, visit the MSDH website at



    If you come in contact with a snake during cleanup efforts, do not attempt to catch or kill the snake. Slowly back away from the snake. If you are bitten by a snake:

    • ·         Do not attempt to cut, suck, or apply ice to the bite area.
    • ·         Do not apply a tourniquet.
    • ·         Call 911 immediately.  Lay the person flat and keep the bitten part of the body at the level of the rest of the body.  Do not elevate or dangle a bitten arm or leg.


    For more information on flood safety, visit Follow MSDH by e-mail and social media at




    Send your announcements to

  • Sign up to help at Volunteer Mississippi

    Main office: (888) 353-1793

  • Donate to the American Red Cross.

  • Emergency Info 

    Highway conditions can be found at

    Click Resources, then MDOT Traffic Alerts or MS Weather

    Students and Public can go to
    For JCJC emergency information.

    Call Dixie Electric at any of the following numbers to report an outage: (601) 425-2535 in Laurel; (601) 583-1131 in Petal; (601) 735-2072 in Waynesboro; 888-465-9209 toll free.